Conference Session Proposals

The submissions deadline for the 2019 conference has passed.

Questions regarding submissions and sessions for the 2019 conference should be directed to Natalie Dehnhoff.


Commissioned Composer

MTNA and OhioMTA annually commission a Composer of the Year.

MTNA is dedicated to encouraging the  creation of new works by American composers and annually assists its  affiliated State Associations with the generation and performance of new  music through the national Composer Commissioning program. A newly  commissioned work receives its premiere performance at the convention of  the State MTA responsible for that commission…and is submitted to the  national commission committee.”  Nominees are solicited from the  membership; a member or local association may nominate a composer, or a  composer (MTNA) member may nominate themselves. 


  1. You must be a resident of, or student in, the state of Ohio and at least 18 years old
  2. Submit a recent resume/curriculum vitae, 3-4 different scores and recordings to the state Commissioning Composer chair.
  3. Submitting scores in PDF format and electronic files (MP3) or links to online recordings by email is preferred.
  4. Note:  if electronic files/PDFs are not available, CDs and hard copies of  scores may be mailed to the address below. All materials must be  received by the deadline in order to be considered.

Submissions are closed for the 2019 Composer of the Year. 

Congratulations to Jesse Ayers, OhioMTA's 2019 Composer of the Year!

Composer of the Year Chairperson

Patrick Reynolds;

2686 Miami Village Drive, 

Miamisburg, Ohio 45342

(937) 554-7238